The Complete Dr. Thorndyke - Volume VII: Pontifex, Son, and Thorndyke When Rogues Fall Out and Dr. Thorndyke Intervenes - Paperback

The Complete Dr. Thorndyke - Volume VII: Pontifex, Son, and Thorndyke When Rogues Fall Out and Dr. Thorndyke Intervenes - Paperback

  • $28.95
    Unit price per 


Order from this site will be dispatched by Feb 2021.

Also available from:

Amazon UK      Book Depository (free worldwide shipping)

Volume VII contains the thirteenth, fourteenth, and fifteenth Thorndyke novels, published in 1931, 1932, and 1933, respectively. 

Pontifex, Son, and Thorndyke - Jasper Gray is an enterprising fellow going about his typical day when he's drawn into a series of curious events. Meanwhile, Thorndyke is consulted on a seemingly unrelated but unusual suicide. When their stories collide, Jasper's life will never be the same.

When Rogues Fall Out - A disagreement between thieves and a policeman doing his duty leads to the policeman's death. Thorndyke, Jervis, and Polton assist the official force to bring the killer to justice - and along the way investigate a most mysterious house . . . .

Dr. Thorndyke Intervenes - An old case has current consequences when a human head is abandoned in a train station. Before the investigation is concluded, a visit to an ancient crypt and explorations in ancient British mines will lead to a restored inheritance.

When Sherlock Holmes began his practice as a "Consulting Detective", his ideas of scientific criminal investigations caused the London police to look upon him as a mere "theorist". And yet, through his work, the science behind catching criminals became so important that it's hard to now imagine the world without them.

Many famous Great Detectives followed in Holmes's footsteps - Nero Wolfe and Ellery Queen, Hercule Poirot and Solar Pons - but before they began their careers, and while Holmes was still in practice in Baker Street, another London consultant - Dr. John Thorndyke - opened his doors, using the scientific methods developed and perfected by Holmes and taking them to a whole new level of brilliance.

Between 1905, with his first appearance in a nearly forgotten novella (see below), to 1942, and through the course of twenty-one novels and over forty short stories, Dr. Thorndyke, often with the assistance of his friend Dr. Christopher Jervis, unraveled some incredibly complex puzzles. Besides providing very satisfying mysteries - some of which turned the literary form inside out - these adventures present vivid pictures of England in the late Victorian and early Edwardian eras, ranging from the doctor's own vividly drawn chambers at 5A Kings Bench Walk in the Temple to the surrounding London streets, and beyond into the villages and towns of the countryside.

Many of the Thorndyke volumes have been difficult to obtain for decades. MX Publishing is proud to announce the return of Dr. Thorndyke in a collection of omnibus editions, bringing these masterful adventures of one of the world's greatest detectives together in an easily available format for modern readers.

"Thorndyke will cheerfully show you all the facts. You will be none the wiser . . . ."

- Dorothy L. Sayers, Chronicler of Lord Peter Wimsey

Author Name: R. Austin Freeman

Edited by: David Marcum

ISBN: 9781787056824

Page count: 692

Publication-date: 12 March 2021

Format: Paperback 

We Also Recommend